Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Long and Winding Road

The Long and Winding Road (Photo credit: Khánh Hmoong)

These are some ideas for making sure you have a good day, when you might be thinking of losses and disappointments. It’s what I will be doing today.

Music: anything that makes you feel good. My choices are some classical composers, such as Beethoven’s Sixth Symphony, or anything by Bach or Vivaldi. I am right now listening to a radio station that plays the old standards, such as by Doris DayTony Bennett, the Beatles, (Did you ever think the Beatles would be one of the Oldies?), and some nice jazz tunes.

English: Tony Bennett performing at a Library ...

English: Tony Bennett performing at a Library of Congress gala event in honor of John W. Kluge. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Scripture: One of my favorites is Psalm 91, verses 1-2.
He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress,
My God, in Him I will trust.
(Read it all; it is all good)
Psalms 100 and 103.
 
 
Words of Jesus: Matthew 11: 25-30;
Matthew 18: 1-5.
Words from Paul’s letters: Ephesians 2: 1-10;
Ephesians 5: 1-2. Paul’s entire letter to the Philipians has a theme of joy, but I especially like Philipians 4: 8-9.
 

These are some of the things I will do today, including going out to eat. Most of all, remember the joy and laughter of your loved one. It will make you glad.

Peace and Love.

Beauty of stained glass

Beauty of stained glass (Photo credit: Lawrence OP)