Tags

, , , , , , ,

fibromyalgia awareness

Here I go again, breaking the rules and paying the price. I woke up at 4am this morning with severe muscle pain all over. What is going on here, I asked myself, since I had pretty much rid myself of this night-time pain. I moaned for a while and then took a tramadol. I was able to relax and go back to sleep.  When I woke up again, I began thinking about what I had eaten the day before and found the problem.

There are articles online, even on WebMD which I usually find pretty accurate, that say there is no diet for fibromyalgia. That is blatantly false. I have written about this before and have quoted nutrition and medical experts on the subject. Do not eat inflammatory foods – period. They are listed in the “Fibromyalgia Cookbook” by Shelley Ann Smith, 2009 Edition. There are plenty of good foods, especially those high in phytonutrients, that are recommended for fibro patients.

Yesterday I prepared a meal from the frozen section called Shrimp Stir Fry. You get a bunch of vegetables and shrimp in one tasty dish, easy to prepare and clean up afterward. The only part wrong is the sauce that comes with it. It is separate and just poured on when the rest is ready. That sauce contains soy sauce (modified corn starch, wheat, and some other things). I am sure that was the source of my problem. Modified corn starch – what is that? It could mean high fructose corn syrup by another name, or something else they don’t want to tell you. I normally am very careful about reading food labels, but I wasn’t this time. I will tell you it was delicious, but if I buy this again, it will be like this: my own sauce made of olive oil, lemon juice and orange juice with zest, fresh ginger, salt and pepper. I think that sounds pretty tasty, and it will be completely fresh without added ingredients that are harmful. It is easy to make your own sauces and fun too, since you are being creative with your meals. By the way, I find this picture pretty disgusting.

Railroad tank car transporting high fructose c...

Railroad tank car transporting high fructose corn syrup (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am feeling better now several hours later. The point is this: Always know what you are eating, and never eat those nasty inflammatory foods: sugar, wheat, green peppers, eggplant, and others I talk about in my previous post, “Stress, Diet, and Building Your Fibro Team.” Even if you cannot follow this 100 per cent, which is hard to do, do the best you can, and keep the inflammation down. It causes pain. This also includes, by the way, good oral health – brushing, flossing, and rinsing with a good oral rinse. Inflammation in and around the gums is very unhealthy for the rest of the body. My dentist said so.

